Reviews for Longing With a Cherry Tomato on Top

BY : MrSchimpf


  • From ANON - Brand on September 07, 2014

    Six years later and I still find myself coming back to this story.

    My heart has never been crushed by a "last updated" date as it has just now. It saddens me to see that such an amazing and beautiful story, not to mention wonderfully erotic in its execution without being overly cheesy, has fallen by the wayside. The fact that this doesn't have thousands of reviews begging you to come back and finish absolutely astounds me as a crime against humanity. It is unlikely you will ever see this review, considering the two years its been since this story was last looked at.

    But know that it will always continue to be enjoyed, in years gone and for years to come.

    - B

    Report Review


  • From Mike on April 22, 2007

    UNbelievably good.

    Report Review


  • From PyramidHead316 on February 01, 2007

    Excellent chapter. Once again, you prove that you are one of the most talented writers working in the realm of fan fics, period.

    I really felt sorry for Paris throughout this chapter. That is a horrible situation to be stuck in with her family, and it's sad that they don't even appreciate her as a human being, much less an extraordinary one. Sharon is definitely a very cold hearted, very evil individual and it makes me dread the moment when Paris and Rory inevitably reveal their relationship to her (intentionally or unintentionally, if it's someone from Chilton who spills the beans). On the plus side, her father seems like a decent man who's been put through hell by a slew of horrible relatives, and the person he loved the most. It's nice to see that Paris has at least him to turn to.

    However, I have to wonder if her father will be accepting of her relationship with Rory. While it's good that he genuinely wants what's best for her, I think it's possible what's happened with Sharon might have hardened him a bit. If he disapproves of the relationship, Paris might feel like she has nowhere to go, which would be a perfect opportunity for her and Lorelai to do some bonding. On the other hand, if her father accepts her, it would be great to see him stand up to Sharon and make it clear he won't let her ruin Paris' life. Either way, we're in for a great dramatic scenario.

    Gigantic kudos for having a very sexual Rory/Paris scene, even if it was 'just' phone sex. Paris has great reason to be confident after this. If she has that effect on Rory just by talking to her, what'll it be like when they're actually together? Damn amazing, that's for sure. It was nice to see Rory loosen up and just enjoy the experience. A lot of the times on the show, I got the impression that everyone just expected to concentrate solely on her education as a teenager, until one day (when all that was behind her), something would just turn 'on' in her brain and she would finally notice boys in a not so innocent way. Not in the way she was with Dean, but on a deeper level that she could fully appreciate.

    Well, Rory is only human, and it's not fair to expect her to be 'perfect' on any level. In fact, it's comforting that she does have such desire for Paris. Her relationship with Dean was superficial, even on the show. They shared some common interests at first, but then they started drifting apart (a lot of it Dean's own fault) until they really had no reason to be together as a couple. More to the point, Rory didn't seem to have any real longing for him. She liked that he was nice and predicatble (or dependable, depending on your POV), but that's about it. With Paris, we can see plainly that Rory does have the potential to love her on several different levels. She can appreciate her intellect, her personality, and her body eqaually, as opposed to being drawn solely to one or the other.

    I do have some issues with how long the phone scene was. It's probably just me, though. While I like descriptive sex scene, I don't have the patience to draw them out as much as you do when writing them, and I think it's affected my ability to read them without jumping ahead. Even so, it was still an incredibly intense and very hot scene! Rory must have been wiped out after that; good luck with Lorelai trying to wake her the next morning for Black Friday. ;D

    I agree we need more GG femslash fics. Unfortunately my talents lie with other series, so I can't even contemplate writing a regular GG fic, never mind a femslash one. Hopefully others who can will be inspired by the example you're setting with this story.

    Report Review


  • From Acepilot87 on January 28, 2007

    This remains, quite possibly, the single greatest fan ficiton ever written, and I am so happy you finally updated! I have only just recently re-read the first 13 chapters and so dove straight into this one! Your mastery of emotion, language and romance has no rivals amongst fan fiction writers. Thank you for the great work, once again.

    Report Review


  • From ANON - lilly on January 12, 2007

    Nice story.

    Report Review


  • From ANON - lovegg on December 28, 2006

    Hey I absolutley love the story so far please I am begging continue with this story I love the way you make Paris and Rory have arguments over alot of thing. Can't wait for the next chapter.

    Report Review


  • From ANON - Anthony on August 30, 2006

    That was a phenomenal chapter! It was definitely well worth the wait.

    The beginning really gives some great insight into Rory's childhood. I really sympathize with Rory. People can be cruel and incredibly immature at any age, something both the girl who harassed her and that stupid principal demonstrated. Having the girl who talked such trash to Rory end up pregnant was a nice twist. It speaks well of Rory that she didn't bother the girl after that; she had every right to gloat once that girl proved her own stupidity to the entire town.

    The talk with Lorelai was a a wonderful segment. One of the things that bothers me about Rory on the show is her constant reluctance to stand up to people. She's gotten better over the years, but she still lets too many things slide, whether it's disrespectful comments by her grandparents, BS from Logan's father, Logan's own stupidity, etc. It was very nice to see her stick to her guns here and be right up front with Lorelai: Paris isn't just a phase and she's not going anywhere. Lorelai's reaction was just about what I expected, though her rules do bother me a bit - Rory's 18 and like she said, eventually she and Paris will have to test how well sexual intimacy works between them. There's no getting around that if they want to ever resolve that tension.

    Speaking of which, that scene with Rory doing a little self-pleasing was great! I can't wait to see when you actually do a full love scene with them. Her conversation with Paris was great too, as was the one between Rory and Miss Patty. It's nice to see Rory and Paris have a firm supporter in the town. There are so many others who may not take that kindly: Dean, Jess, Taylor, Mrs. Kim...maybe even Luke if he thinks Paris is just taking advantage of Rory. He doesn't exactly have a good first impression of her.

    Overall, the whole chapter was just wonderful. Keep it up, and I definitely hope the next chapter comes a little quicker this time. ;)

    Report Review


  • From ANON - Jay on August 25, 2006

    Another chapter, hooray. I was wondering when it'd come along. Definately worth the wait.
    Thanks for continuing to write.

    Report Review


  • From ANON - Jay on July 28, 2006

    I have no clue why I didn't write in response to this before. It is my absolute favorite piece of fanfiction. I wish you could be a writer on the show. :D

    Anyway. I'm currently rereading it, because it's been a while. Excellent. It changed my view of the Gilmore Girls forever, and I can't wait for another update.

    Lovely as always.

    Report Review


  • From ANON - Anon on January 31, 2006

    This is the best GG fic I've read, and one of the best fanfics of any genre that I've ever come across. After reading this, it's hard to watch episodes of GG and not see Rory and Paris as a couple. Thanks for the story, and keep up the great writing.

    Report Review


  • From ANON - Anthony on January 31, 2006

    Great chapter! It was definitely worth the wait. I'm kinda annoyed at Lorelai for not being as open as she could be, but that's just me; her reaction was very much in character, and at least she's making the attempt for Rory's sake. I admit I'm very curious to see how the lovely couple will get around her rules and vigilance if they decide to take things to the next level, hopefully soon. :) While they could just wait until going to college and living together, that's sort of the easy way out, since then Lorelai could put herself in denial about them having an adult relationship, as we know she likes to do. Besides, as close as they got in this chapter, I don't think their willpower would last that long. ;)

    Report Review


  • From Mike on January 10, 2006

    Fantastic. Delightful. Very well written and very very erotic. Excellent.

    Report Review


  • From ANON - In need of updates on December 24, 2005

    PLEASE UPDATE THIS FIC IS AMAZING

    Report Review


  • From ANON - death by chocolate on November 10, 2005

    UPPPPPDATE PLEASE I READ THE 11TH CHAPTER PLEASE WE NEED MORE PLEASE PLEASE PLEASE

    Report Review


  • From ANON - Stacey on November 04, 2005

    Gosh what a great story. I can't even imagine how long each chapter takes, but the final product is worth it. This story is the best thing here on AFF.net, by a mile. The dialogue is better than the actual show, and the characterizations are dead-on. Bravo. I derive great pleasure from reading the chapters just for the snappy dialogue, much less the excellent written angst and pent-up feelings. Bravo!

    Report Review