Reviews for Guilty Pleasures

BY : Cody_Thomas


  • From Guiltypleasures on February 27, 2015

    Wow! I read the comments and your replies which were posted as a last chapter and I got really angry! I'm so tired of these anonymous commenters destroying the "will-to-write" of great fan fiction writer's! These horrid and insensitive commenters are not worth your time! Don't read what they have to say! They have no integrity, and are obviously chicken-shit hiding behind their anonymous status!
    You have written a story for fans of Sherlock who need good writers like you to give them something to keep them entertained during the long, long hiatus between Sherlock episode air dates. You do this free of charge, and should be thanked not criticized! The button says comments not harsh criticism!
    Those two idiots who negatively commented don't have anything better to do than to try and break your confidence?! They probably haven't written any fan fiction themselves! If they have they are to "chicken-shit" to give their names so they can get some of the nastiness they've so easily dished out!
    I'm really pissed that the results of their bullshit has caused you to stop updating this story! Don't give them the satisfaction of winning! They win when you put down your keyboard and become silent!
    The picky-grammar-ass who I believe has only one agenda and that is to stop fan fiction period - has attacked so many good writers and almost every last one stopped writing! Whoever you are you need to give it a rest! No one asked you to take out your damn red pen anyway! Why don't you get a teaching degree and use your talent for good rather than evil! Stop dropping your demonic grammar opinions all over fan fiction websites and writers. They are a sensitive bunch of creative people putting their writing out their for the enjoyment of true fans who read for the story and reconnection to fandoms they love. You obviously seem to only find enjoyment in bashing someone else's creations. Stop being a bitch - better yet stop reading fan fiction all together and find something else to occupy your time - maybe knitting or gardening where you can do no harm!!!!!

    To the writer of this story I really hope you come back and finish this story. Don't let someone who is too afraid to put their names to their nasty comments stop you from enjoying writing, and giving the fandom your great stories. I was so caught up in this story that it felt like being cut with a knife when it suddenly ended. I don't know what else to say! I hope you come back!!!

    Report Review


  • From MercuryGarden on November 22, 2014

    Hello there,

    First off I'd like to say I'm terribly sorry people have been treating you so badly in their reviews.It's funny that your trolls think that you actually give a flying F about their grievances. It's not like they're bloody professional literary critics!

    I for one love this story and I think it is one of the most intelligently written fanfiction stories I've read ( and I've read hundreds over the years). Beyond just the wanton smut that most writers can bring to the table, you've brought a colorful plot, an interesting and surprising take on the mutual "abuse" and the many layers in John and Sherlocks relationship. Not to mention the twisted web of real worldl connections and *****character development,***** (jazz hands!)

    I'm really looking forward to seeing this story come full circle and to watch what happens if and when Sherlock professes his intentions in manipulating John. You're a fantastic writer, so don't listen to those bastards. Keep doing what you do.

    And, for the record, I'm pagan. And I found it a nice change for John to be expressive but vague.everyone follows their own creed. So that troll I'd like to personally tar and feather.

    ....anyway.....
    Thank you for sharing your art with the world. I shall be anxiously awaiting your update.

    Be well!



    Report Review


  • From ANON - amsev on June 01, 2014

    I do hope you continue this dark, guilty pleasure. Very, VERY thought provoking.

    Report Review


  • From ANON - raelene on February 12, 2014

    i love this story, i cant believe some of the reviews you got are so harsh, i like that its not your typical sap love story, it got character development and plot on top of everything else, i hope you update again soon!

    Report Review


  • From Guiltypleasures on January 10, 2014

    I found your story absolutely entertaining, and worth the read. I don't know when you last updated and uploaded chapter 12, but please don't stop writing this very interesting piece of fiction. I was blown away by this story because it gives a different view of how abuse could begin, and how the roles, and blame can be less black and white. I would love to read more. I hope you don't allow the negative reviews you had stop you from completing this story - that would be truly sad.

    Report Review


  • From ANON - Hope on December 13, 2013

    I just realized my comment about understandable English was rude and can be misinterpreted I meant any one who has grown up with English as their first language and if they're using the stupid texting crap just to tell you off.

    Report Review


  • From ANON - Hope on December 13, 2013

    This is a brilliant story and I want more. Mind you it took three tries to read it past chapter 2, but that was me I'm kinda new to the slash thing but Johnlock is all that I read. I don't read any other slash. Also anyone who doesn't write in understandable English (not necessarily grammar because I know mine is not up to par) is definitely a troll, and clearly doesn't have enough respect for those of us who are brave enough to post our inner most workings on sites like this. Because that's what it truly is, these are our fantasies (not sure if i spelled it right), our dreams, our nightmares and for some of us it's a way to either put words things that have happened to us in the past but we're not comfortable voicing out loud to others but to right fanfiction we can change the names so they fit and figure out how to work it or make us feel better. I love your take; that you are writing this for yourself and that you take pride in your work and you're going to write it how you want to, because damnit it's your story and noone else's.

    Report Review


  • From PendulumDeath on November 18, 2013

    This is rather strange but after reading your fic I went and read other fics and now I'm totally addicted to this ( the Sherlock Holmes stories ) and it's driving me crazy because I can't watch the series with my slow-ass Internet speed. Life is... cruel...



    Report Review


  • From PendulumDeath on November 17, 2013

    I'm loving this fic so far. It's well written. I'm not a huge Holmes fan ( I've only watched the first three episodes ) but what can I say, I can't help but anxiously wait for the next chapter.

    Report Review


  • From ANON - Deb J. on August 24, 2013

    This story is just what I imagined myself for Johnlock. John has his moments of pure animal drive, but they don't seem to last very long and he is always sorry for any damage he causes. Sherlock is quite capable of stopping John's behavior but chooses instead to provoke and encourage those outbursts out of a desire to study John and a hope to replicate a pleasurable previous incident. Honestly, I wish there were more parts available to read because I am already addicted to this story line! Well written and very well thought out story.

    Report Review


  • From Arella2013 on August 11, 2013

    I really like this story and I can't wait for more.

    Report Review


  • From ANON - Vincent Meoblinn on August 10, 2013

    Oh, and I use 'gods' in my stories for the same reason. No one's ever complained, though.

    Report Review


  • From ANON - Vincent Meoblinn on August 10, 2013

    I too have felt the harsh lash of bored tongues. Don't listen to them. Your story is terrific!
    Here's how I handle the nay-sayers: http://archiveofourown.org/works/894272



    Report Review


  • From ANON - M on June 21, 2013

    Big slips ruin stories for me, unfortunately. You can be very good, but take care not to allow your own biases to interfere with character. I let to the rather obvious and undercooked concept of Sherlock as Dom (Trite. Obvious. Oversimplified, given the intricacies of his unique psyche...). Unfortunately, your penchant for subverting the common (and unchristian, though many pagans don't follow the religious overtones of expletive grammar) use of "god" as a verbal ejaculation into "gods" is utterly telling. Shades of narcissus, yes. John has become the Mary Sue.

    Shame, really. You have talent, and a decent grip on the craft of writing. Avoid ego pitfalls!

    Report Review


  • From ANON - jags on June 20, 2013

    That was brilliant! Please write more soon and email me at lonewolfjags@gmail.com when you do

    Report Review